Make & Do – First Attempt

This is the moment that I fell out of love with my Make & Do project – it had been going so well up until now, I managed to assemble all my ingredients:

Image

I was really looking forward to getting started on it. I had a look through some tutorials on the Arduino website, and it really did seem like something which would be really useful in helping me become more familar with Processing (the platforms are almost identical-well to my untrained eye anyway).

I probably went about it wrong though, in that I dived straight into assembling the project, rather than making myself familiar with all the parts, and this is where it went belly up and I almost chucked it in the bin!

No matter how many times I reassembled it as per the scematics it just wouldnt run for, all I could get it to do was make the blue LED lights flash, which is all very wonderful, but they aren’t supposed to be lighting up at all:

Image

At this point I’m kind of dispairing that it is not going to work at all, I’ve checked and rechecked the wiring and I just cant see where I went wrong – Im now starting to worry that the LCD screen is broken. The only way I can see to check it is to do another simple project just connecting an Arduino to an LCD screen.

After some googling, I came across an interesting piece of information while looking at a project for connecting a Raspberry Pi to the same LCD screen. The LCD screen I bought was premounted onto a breakout board, but according to this tutorial, some boards have different pin-out configurations: the LCD screen has 8 output pins, each for a different function such as LED lights, ground, D/C etc. The Pong tutorial I had been working to was using a different configuration to the board I had.

EUREKA!!

I found a simple tutorial which just sends scrolling text to the LCD screen; this tutorial was handy because instead of relying on following a photograph or schematic diagram, it actually listed out how to connect each individual pin (so it didnt matter which type of board I was using):

It has 8 pins, connect these as follows (or adjust the code below for the correct arduino pins):

  1. VCC (3v arduino output)
  2. GND – Not needed, but if you do some sites say to connect via a small capacitor
  3. SCE – Pin 7
  4. RST – Pin 6
  5. D/C – Pin 5
  6. DN – Pin 4
  7. SCLK – Pin 3
  8. LED (backlight) – No needed, but if you do, remember to use a current limiting resistor

AND IT WORKED!!!

Image

Well, at least I know now that all the parts are working, so hopefully my next attempt at the Pong game will work!

Watch this space

 

Leave a Reply

